
 

⇒ Certification changes from life-time to 5-year increments 

⇒ All staff working in a position affected by the new rule on the day it took effect were grandfathered at their cur-
rent level at their current job title in their current library district.  Once a staff person is hired for a new job 
within their current library district or they are hired at another library district, they would become subject to 
the new certification education requirements. 

⇒ Continuing education will be required to maintain certification. Approved Library Education Units (LEUs) in-
clude: college & university coursework; workshops, seminars, institutes, lectures and training by certified 
trainers; and other continuing education opportunities as approved by the State Library. 

⇒ The cost changed from $1.00 for life-time to $50.00 every 5 years 

⇒ New Librarian Certification Levels (Table on page 2) 

⇒ New classification system: A, B, C – based on population (Table on page 2) 

⇒ Voluntary Specialist Certification Levels (Table on page 2) 

⇒ Public library directors serving populations greater than 10,000 are required to hold an ALA-MLS and direc-
tors serving populations less than 10,000 are required to hold a BA and 15 hours of library science courses 

⇒ Library directors, branch heads, department heads and professional assistants must be certified 

⇒ Professional assistant is defined to include positions in which a person devotes more than half of his or her time 
to work that calls for: 

1. knowledge of professional library practice, collections and of technical library processes; 
2. ability to deal with people in a professional capacity as distinguished from clerical; and 
3. includes, but not limited to, staff classified as librarians, paraprofessionals, catalogers, reference  assistants, 

program coordinators and department heads responsible for professional library duties. 



About the Certification Taskforce 
 

The Indiana State Library formed the Certification Taskforce in May 2007 and charged it to recommend new certification rules 
for Indiana library professionals that add validity and credibility to the profession and compliance with Indiana law. More in-
formation about the taskforce, its findings, and participants is available on WebJunction Indiana at http://in.webjunction.org.  
The new rule went into effect July 1, 2008..  

Classification  
Requirements 

Director Department and  
Branch Head 

Professional  
Assistant 

Class A (Library population  
40,000 and greater) 

 

ALA– MLS + 
LC1 or higher PLUS 100 

LEUs every 5 years 

Bachelors + 
LC4 or higher PLUS 75 

LEUs every 5 years 

Associates + or 
60 hrs College + 

LC5 or higher PLUS 50 
LEUs every 5 years 

Class B (Library population  
between 10,000 and 39,999) 

 

ALA-MLS + 
LC2 or higher PLUS 100 

LEUs every 5 years 

Associates + or 
60 hrs College + 

LC5 or higher PLUS 75 
LEUs every 5 years 

High School Diploma + 
LC6 or higher PLUS 50 

LEUs every 5 years 

Class C (Library population  
under 10,000 ) 

 

Bachelors + 
LC4 or higher PLUS 100 

LEUs every 5 years 

High School Diploma + 
LC6 or higher PLUS 75 

LEUs every 5 years 

High School Diploma + 
LC6 or higher PLUS 50 

LEUs every 5 years 

Librarian Certification Levels 
 
Librarian Certificate 1 (LC1) - ALA-accredited MLS degree (or equivalent) 
with 10 years professional library experience (or 6 years professional experi-
ence including 3 years supervisory experience)  
Librarian Certificate 2 (LC2) - ALA-accredited MLS degree (or equivalent) 
with 3 years professional library experience  

Librarian Certificate 3 (LC3) - ALA-accredited MLS degree (or equivalent)  
Librarian Certificate 4 (LC4) - Bachelor's degree from an accredited college 
or university, including 15 semester hours of required library science courses  
Librarian Certificate 5 (LC5) - 60 hours of college or associate's degree plus 
9 semester hours of required library science courses  
Librarian Certificate 6 (LC6) - High school diploma or GED with 5 years of 
library experience or 9 semester hours of required library science courses.  

Specialist Certification Levels (Voluntary) 
 

Specialist 1 – Accredited Master's degree with 10 years professional experi-
ence in subject field or 6 years professional experience in subject field includ-
ing 3 years of supervisory experience 
Specialist 2 – Accredited Master's degree with 3 years' professional experi-
ence in subject field  

Specialist 3 – Accredited Master's degree 
Specialist 4 – Bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university, in-
cluding 15 semester hours of subject field 
Specialist 5 – 60 hours of college or associate's degree plus 9 semester hours 
in subject field 


